Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Howdy Neighbor! May 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 12:52 am

Howdy Neighbor is the title of my son Conall’s first grade musical I attended tonight.  He was Huck Finn complete with a straw hat, rolled up jeans and freckles applied with an old eyeliner of mine and was wonderful!  He didn’t have to sing a solo but did have several lines.  He was quite nervous earlier today when they did the show for the school but tonight he seemed calmer.  This was his first experience on stage and speaking publicly…..a big milestone.  Sharing the joys and worries in my kids’ lives makes me realize how lucky I am to know them so well.  They are funny and kind and sometimes a pain in the butt but I wouldn’t trade my role as mother for anything.  I think that is part of the reason I love being a pediatrician too.  Kids have a very special place in my heart and life.  I love hearing what they think, how they feel and seeing the world through their eyes.  I enjoy the fact that I can usually make kids comfortable enough with me that they will at least crack a smile and usually open up.  It is most rewarding with the silent and sullen teenagers who have an uncanny ability to seem absolutely untouchable.  I don’t always have success but I can reach them often enough and have a real conversation, hearing their thoughts and concerns and it gives me hope for when my own kids reach that age.

I talked to a lot of you today and scheduled several appointments for August and a few for the coming weeks and with each contact, either by email or phone, I get more and more excited about this new venture.  I also spent some time today updating my credentials with insurers and getting my malpractice lined up.  One of the things I had hoped to do was to partner with a local kids’ book shop to offer parenting books for sale in the Wellness Center, hand picked by me.  Unfortunately I think Mind Candy, the kids’ book store over on Cole St. in Birmingham, has closed.  I will still offer the books of course, just purchase them myself and resell them to you but I was hoping to partner with another female run business in the community.  I will just have to keep looking.

Thanks to everyone who is reading!  I am interested in hearing from people about what sorts of physical or cultural or just plain fun activities you do as a family.  Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

