Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

travel and sun and widgets May 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:38 pm

Wow.  That’s the operative word for today.  I got back from Hilton Head at 2 am and spent the day with my family.  The swim club opened this weekend and today we all enjoyed the sun and the pool and the friends we see each summer.  It was gorgeous and relaxing and terrific to reconnect with my family after my trip.  I know a lot of parents have jobs that involve travel and even though we all get accustomed to it, I still miss my kids a lot while I am away.  This is not unique to me, I know a lot of moms and dads who feel exactly the same way and when they come home try to make the most of the time they have with their families.  It still amazes me to see the physical changes in my kids in just a few days.  Conall had lost a tooth just before I left and the new one is peeking through his gumline now, Declan seems to have grown another inch while I was away for four days and Mairen’s freckles are emerging in the summer sun.  Wonderful. 

Now that summer seems officially here, I have a confession to make…..even though I am very fair-skinned and a doctor for goodness sake, I can’t seem to stay out of the sun.  There is little I enjoy more than sitting on a lounge chair in my bathing suit (liberally doused with sunscreen of course) while the sun beats down on my skin.  When I finally get so hot I can’t stand it anymore, I slip into the pool and play catch or tag with the kids or do handstands in the water.  I am actually a 12 year old trapped in a 40-something body.  I love going off the diving board, swimming laps, and drinking diet coke poolside. 

If you noticed on my widget sidebar I have added more links to others’ sites including the American Academy of Pediatrics which has terrific resources for parents.  I was trying (without success) to add a survey to the sidebar…..aarrgghhh.  I made the ONE QUESTION poll on several sites several times and tried to import the html text and it NEVER worked.  UUUUGGGHHH.  I will keep trying….ANY ADVICE WOULD BE WELCOME…..

Eat, love and play and every day will be your best.

Molly O’Shea, MD

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

3 Responses to “travel and sun and widgets”

  1. Amy Says:

    Tried to access aap site to read articles– states need to be a member or pay $12 to view article

  2. drmolly Says:

    oops. i didn’t realize that! i’ll take the rss off for now and figure out how to add content tomorrow.

  3. I will help you with widgets. call.


Leave a Reply

