Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

brothers, spitballs, cake, and family June 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 8:15 pm

tom and chuckSundays are marvelous days….I meet my brothers for breakfast and we get caught up on all the happenings in each other’s lives.  We always meet at the same place, Zorba’s in Clawson, and almost always order the same thing, western omelets.  The waitstaff knows us well now and since we are good tippers and since the folks there are all family too, they have adopted us.  When I brought the first set of architectural plans to breakfast, the staff admired them too.  This week, Chuck unveiled his new business cards and brochures.  Slick.  Tom is moving to a new place tomorrow with his two cats and can’t wait.  Here is a photo of Tom (left) and Chuck (right).

After breakfast, Conall and I went to see ‘Speed Racer’ with his friend Joe at the Palladium in Birmingham.  As we drove by the Farmer’s Market I noticed a lot of people strolling and shopping there.  NICE!  ‘Speed Racer’ was interesting visually with incredible color and interesting effects and as a child of the 70s it was a nostalgic romp.  Much better than the movie though was seeing Conall and Joe chatting.  Joe is a really nice kid, polite, and bright and with a little mischief in him.  To hear the boys as a fly on the wall was great.  At one point Joe was discussing with Conall the best way to tell a friend of theirs that he needs to be more polite and respectful of others.  So cute.  I was sitting there smug and proud, thinking I had raised this wonderful, kind and thoughtful boy who can choose the best friends.  I was patting myself on the back when I noticed the kid two rows in front of us swatting something from the back of his head and realized these angelic boys were blowing spit balls through their straws attempting to hit the poor kid they didn’t even know!  I guess if I am going to take credit for the good stuff I gotta cringe and groan at myself for the bad stuff too……parenting……a roller coaster.

My day finished up with a birthday celebration for my mother-in-law.  She would pass out if I actually stated her age in this blog but let’s just say she is at least 29.  The kids each made her cards and Declan surprised us all by putting a dollar bill in his card for Grandma Carmen!  So cute!  Then we shared in a cake from the Townsend Bakery in Birmingham.  Let me tell you, I love to bake and am actually pretty good at it but a cake from the Townsend cannot be beat.

My kids are really lucky to have all four grandparents still alive and all living nearby.  Kevin’s parents have taken us on extended trips to Peru (where my mother-in-law was born and raised) and Ireland (where my father-in-law’s parents emigrated from).  You really get to know people when you travel together…..it has its ups and downs but it certainly has cemented the good relationship I share with my in-laws.  My father-in-law is a business guy who is a completely self-made man and is offering me great guidance and assistance in this new business venture of mine.  My mom Katie Doherty will be manning the front desk at the practice if all goes as planned and I hope to recruit Chuck’s mother-in-law Mary Ellen to share that responsibility.  What a joy to have a family! 

Happy Sunday! 

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD   Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

