Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Lovin’ the home visits and wantin’ to expand June 9, 2008

Filed under: musings,practice logistics — drmolly @ 11:06 pm

Don’t go out and get yourselves all pregnant again just to avail yourself of this, but I have a great idea.  I have enjoyed the home visits so much that I think one way to continue them in ‘real’ practice is to put together a newborn home visit package.  For the first three months of a newborn’s life, I could come to the house for all of the visits….all the weight checks and check ups and visits to discuss breast feeding and poop and reflux and colic and if needed post partum depression.  Now of course I can’t do this for every newborn or I would never be at work, but I could do it for up to 4 or 5 newborns each month.  I would have to charge something for this service of course in addition to billing insurance for the visits but I think it could be really a good idea. 

Can you tell I love the home visits????  Tonight I was thinking about how to structure these regular home visits going forward.  I can’t do an unlimited number of them each day and still run a practice and see my kids but I could do one before work, one at lunchtime and one on my way home.  Parents could call (or leave a message overnight) requesting one and if it is available then I could do it.  I have been thinking about what to charge for this too since it will take me out of the office for some time and am still working that out but based on the interest in the home visits so far I think it could work.

Let me know your thoughts, suggestions, comments….there is no template for this sort of thing and since I am making it up as I go along, I need some input!

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

2 Responses to “Lovin’ the home visits and wantin’ to expand”

  1. robyn Says:

    It would be like having you on retainer!
    I like the idea. Do adopted children count?
    I got to get out the “Boob Buffet,” but I still
    might need a home visit…or 3!

  2. Jen Says:

    I am sure Molly will include all new children to a family – she has been wonderful to our girls (and us, too). Oh, yeah, our girls happen to be adopted.

    I LOVE the newborn home visit idea – especially as it provides a better opportunity to see how the family is really doing in their own setting and, hopefully, raise any flags about PPD.

    One possibility I was thinking of for home visits was to close the office early one or two days a week. For me, knowing of the availability of home visits when needed would balance out the reduction of office hours.


Leave a Reply

