Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

scary June 12, 2008

Filed under: mental and emotional health,practice logistics — drmolly @ 10:11 pm

Transistions are hard.  Starting kindergarten can be scary.  Staying home alone when your parents go out for the evening takes real courage.  Learning to drive is great but also stressful for most teenagers.  Telling your parents you aren’t exactly going to follow all of their rules anymore is dicey.  Going from being single to married has bumps as you learn to love and live together.  Leaving your job of 13 years is no different.  There are days that are easy and happy and wonderful.  Days filled with the excitement of realizing dreams and determining your own future and days full of worry about whether patients will feel comfortable leaving the familiar surroundings of the old practice.  I have no doubt about my decision to realize my dreams and no doubt that I will have plenty of families interested in following me but still, some days it is hard. 

Today was one of those scary days.  I hired my first real employee today and had to do it all on my own.  In the past, I have had an office manager who did this sort of thing, she would interview the candidates, have a salary package and job description at hand and she was able to answer all the questions.  I just had me, sitting across a table at Starbucks, talking to Pat Demorest about my vision for the practice and my needs and wants in an employee.  Luckily I know Pat a bit and so I could show my strengths and weaknesses freely and share with her my need to make this project a collaborative one since I haven’t done it exactly this way before.  Pat was terrific.  She will make a great nurse for the practice.  She has spent the last few years doing pediatric home care and before that did research and worked in the NICU.  One of the things she is most excited about is getting to know the families in the practice….interact and share information and support them.  She will make a great addition to the team.  My mom of course is on the team and she will be learning the billing portion of my emr by coming with me to Austin after the 4th of July for training and Pat has agreed to come and learn the charting portion.  NICE! 

I still have more jobs to fill and will be talking turkey with Chuck’s mother-in-law on Fathers Day about working for me but having gotten the first interview under my belt, the scary feeling is lessening.  Whew!

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

