Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Logo preview, Ikea, Dynamic HR and more! June 26, 2008

Filed under: build out,community events,design/furniture/aesthetics — drmolly @ 10:28 pm

God love Christopher Billick at Skidmore.  He is something else.  I had decided to sponsor a movie series in Birmingham this summer (last Friday of the month for the next three months) http://www.enjoybirmingham.com/index.php?c=event&l=372 and needed a logo for the screen in Shain Park before the movie starts.  Christopher came through!  Here’s the first draft of the logo.  I will be changing some things but you get the idea…Have I got more good news!  I went to Ikea today and got a TON of stuff for the office.  I met with Harmony in the small business area and we went to town!  Although I will have 16 exam rooms, I am only outfitting 12 of them for now as well as the reception area, my office, the break room and the front reception desk.  Here are some links to the reception area chairs: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50103171 not in the pattern you see but in Blad multicolor which you can click down on the product and see, http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S19840304 not the pattern you see but in Dillne Multicolor which you can click down on the product to see.  I also have cobbled together a reception desk of sorts from several components at Ikea.  Here are some of them: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S69831118 (2 of these for the sides), http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/48036310 for the front with a top on it…. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/30118343

I also ordered the leather sofas, desks, desk chairs and storage cabinets for 12 exam rooms as well as a funky light pink egg shaped desk for my office.  Neato!

Today was great too because I met with my HR and payroll company guys Dave and John and they are going to do all the heavy lifting when it comes to FICA, 401k, flexible spending, direct deposit, workman’s comp and health insurance.  They are also helping provide me with policy manuals for the employees and will get the HR part of my life organized.   Nice to outsource it!

Lastly, today was great because I saw the space again and the electrical and plumbing rough in are nearly done.  Wow!  I have some more pictures on the Build Out photos page and one includes Mark who looks like he is in prison (and he sort of is!)  Poor guy, he is working his but off to get this project done on time.  He has two boys, ages 10 and 7, who don’t even remember what he looks like because he has been working such long hours.  Goran, my electrician is doing a bang-up job and Mike from Cutting Edge Computers has already got my T1 line and voice lines in!  Wow!  Thanks to the hard working crew and a special thanks to Frank, my architect/builder, who is keeping everyone on track and under budget.

Tomorrow my family and I leave for Union Pier, Michigan for a week of R and R.  I am really looking forward to it and will be spending some time working on handouts and brochure materials and spending some time just reading ‘The Hakawati’.  I will continue to blog while away and keep you abreast of the build out, the weather and the slow and lazy summer days at the beach.

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

