Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Sand everywhere June 28, 2008

Filed under: musings — drmolly @ 10:00 pm

Ok it’s official, I love vacation.  I love the jigsaw puzzles and the Scrabble games and the body surfing and the fire pit digging and the book reading and the dinner cooking (for real!) and the Sponge Bob and HGTV watching (we don’t have cable at home) and the smells of summer on the lake.  I don’t even mind the sand that is everywhere (and I do mean everywhere). 

Declan loves the food.  He loves it so much that he woke up at 2 am and was rummaging around in the kitchen making his breakfast because he was so excited to have Trix and Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Lucky Charms since these are vacation treats.  Before I go on let me tell you something about Declan, he LOVES to eat.  The kid is a walking stick figure but eats a ton of food.  He will eat anything….he would eat an old shoe if I told him he’d like it….but usually chooses really healthy stuff and since he seems to be self regulating well, I only limit the times he can eat (meals and snack times) so he doesn’t eat constantly.  Even so it was incredibly unusual to have him awaken in the middle of the night trolling for food.  It was like he had taken Ambien and was sleep eating!  He was hard to corral back into bed and then awoke at 5 and 6 am and had to be returned to bed again!  I am hoping for a sounder sleep tonight!

I have HGTV awaiting me.  Off to play!

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

