Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Everything in Texas IS Bigger July 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:21 pm

This morning began the week of training in Austin for e-MDs my electronic medical record http://www.e-mds.com/.   I had been excited about it before but when Pat and I sat in our training session today (all day) I really knew I had made the right choice.  It is incredibly easy to use, has a ton of patient education info already built in, can generate any form for school or camp I could ever want, and allows me to track my time much better.  It is bigger and better than I had hoped!  I will be able to fine tune my appointment plan and that is a big bonus.  Prescriptions are incredibly easy, lab and xray orders are generated (no more script pad writing), and even responding to emails is a breeze.  I feel confident in using it already and look forward to learning how to customize the templates tomorrow.  Pat really likes it too.  We have a group of seven of us in this training session (well I guess not EVERYTHING is bigger in Texas) and we are all at different interests and skill levels with EMR use.  One woman is a computer engineer and asks great questions (or at least they seem great since I can’t even understand half the words in them) and others are true novices.  I am thrilled with my choice!

Being in Texas in July has been pleasantly comfortable so far.  Pat and I had lunch outside at a great little restaurant and ate ourselves silly (after all that activity with our fingers and wrists on the computer we needed it).  For dinner, another trainee, Heidi joined us and we went to one of the most amazing and beautiful places I have ever been for dinner.  The are is called The Oasis and you drive up winding roads reminscent of Northern California or Italy to get to this gorgeous restaurant.  As we were dining outside, the sun was starting to set over the lake and the greenery of the trees and beauty of the vista were better than any food could ever have been.  The above photos were all taken at the Oasis.  Pat and I are in the picture on the far right and Pat and Heidi are in the one in the middle.  Seeing myself in a photo makes me hope that everything is bigger in Texas and that I will go back to my normal size when I return to Michigan!  Of course that would require fewer fresh tortilla chips and forgoing a cosmo….hmmm maybe bigger is better!

Did I mention my hotel is right next to a Hooters?  See what I mean?  🙂

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

One Response to “Everything in Texas IS Bigger”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Molly.

    Just dropping a line to tell you that your blog is a real treat to read. Hope the day is not too long for you, as well as the rest of the week. It has been a pleasure meeting you, having a martini with you and sharing stories! I wish you all the best in your new practice and the new software!

    Will be in touch…and maybe see you at the used conference, this year or next!!!

    Take care,

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

