Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Another BIG day in Austin July 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 11:57 pm

What an exciting day!  It started with a phone call from Frank giving me a ‘good news’ update….the IT guys went through the space, the glass for the doors is in, the insulation between the walls for sound proofing was going in after the plumbing inspection today, and the floor installation is coming in under budget!  Great way to start the day. 

Pat, Heidi and I went over to e-MDs for our training and today was fascinating as well.  We learned about scanning documents, building templates, adding in patient education handouts, taking and processing phone calls in the system and editing notes.  A lot of stuff!  On each of the two breaks I talked with two potential RN employees and one of them is on board for sure!  Jeni DeRidder is going to work part time for me now.  She is an NICU nurse who for the last several years has been working on research projects for Dr. Maisels, the Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics.  She is going to work still for him and work a day or two a week for me.  Pat used to work with her doing the neonatal research and they know each other well.  I am happy to have her on my team!  The second nurse I spoke with today is very interested and enthusiastic, wants full time work and will let me know by the end of the week.  She also has worked with both Pat and Jeni and they all really like and respect each other.  Keep your fingers crossed…..

This evening, Pat and I went to a little restaurant our trainer suggested where the food was superb.  We sat outside and drank in the evening sun, the surprisingly comfortable temperatures and a margarita.  The restaurant is off the beaten path a bit and is really a glorified hole in the wall that is colorfully decorated.  The best kind of place to find fantastic food.  I also picked up my mom from the airport and she is settling in as I do my blog.  She is chatting non-stop (now I know where Conall gets it) and it is reminiscent of my childhood.  She doesn’t expect me to listen or respond, she is just talking her way through everything and the occasional acknowledgment is all she needs. 

So, once the office opens, if you are looking for some chit chat, just come on down to Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center for some conversation. 

Eat, love and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

