Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

A Glorious Day! July 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:14 pm

If anyone has a recipe for oven pancakes that are actually GOOD let me know.  Conall and I got up early this morning to make a recipe from the cookbook he gave me (for oven pancakes) and to say they were bad doesn’t do justice to the word.  They were AWFUL.  Not pancakes, not crepes, not popovers but some odd morphing of all three….puffy but tasteless, chewy in a way pancakes should never be and heavy to boot.  No syrup could soak in, they were impervious to it.  Now bear in mind that Conall and I are good cooks and I have never made a pancake he hasn’t liked so he was crestfallen when these were lousy.  He ended up finishing off the oatmeal I had made for the others and cheered up when I told him that every cookbook has a dud or two and we are lucky to have found this one and gotten it out of the way!

Wasn’t today just about perfect?  The sun was out and the temps were just right.  The kids and I walked into town and saw ‘Meet Dave’ at the Palladium.   Now I know the reviews weren’t great (actually they were pretty bad) and yet that is the one movie that we could all agree on.  Kevin wants to see ‘Journey to the Center of the Earth’ and he is still on his comp time and with ‘wall-e’ and ‘Kung Fu Panda’ seen and ‘Get Smart’ too grown up for the boys, it was ‘Meet Dave’ on tap for today.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Sure the humor was predictable and a bit sophomoric but the message was great: it’s OK to be different and being in touch with your feelings is a liberating thing.  Eddie Murphy is hilarious with physical humor and can deliver a line like no one else.  I enjoyed it.

After the movie (we saw the first movie of the day to keep our afternoon open) we strolled home via Booth Park and spent time playing in the misters, climbing the rocks, swinging and sliding down the turf hill.  By the time we got home and had a bite to eat, the kids enthusiasm for the swim club had gone and we just stayed home, walked the dog and played.  NICE.

I was able to do a little work before dinner and was able to set up my accounts to order vaccines, gave Frank the info he needs to order all my appliances and TVs, found a treadmill I like for the office (on Craigslist), and set up a meeting with Tim Smith my fabu webman for tomorrow.  

Tomorrow I will visit the space for the first time in over a week so I am sure to have great new photos to share!

Share, support, drink in the outdoors, and live in harmony and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

One Response to “A Glorious Day!”

  1. Kathleen Moltz MD Says:

    Alton Brown (Good Eats) has fabulous pancake (and everything recipes. I don’t know if he has “oven pancakes” tho. Check FoodNetwork.com and search pancake and then limit to Alton Brown.
    -KM


Leave a Reply

