Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

and the travel is DONE! July 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 12:22 pm

I have been on a whirlwind of travel since early May and I am finally done!  I left on Wednesday for Elk Grove Village for a planning group meeting for a course called Practical Pediatrics and found when I got to the hotel that they had no wireless internet (can you believe that!).  My tablet PC doesn’t have an ethernet port so I had to go blogless while I was there….I nearly went through withdrawal!  The meeting went well and this group consists of only six doctors and three staff folks from the AAP so we really know each other well.  Sally Mandell, one of the staffers is fantastic.  I have known her now for more than 10 years and it was great to see her.  We planned our meetings for 2010 (there are 9 meetings to plan) and we did it very efficiently.  I came home last night and found out that the Mexican food I had for lunch (that tasted great on the way down) came back to haunt me aggressively when I got home.  NOT FUN!  

This minor illness brings up a topic which has been asked by many of you….what will you do in practice when you are sick or on vacation?  I have only missed one or two days due to illness in the last 15 years of practice (and would have worked today if needed) so that is unlikely to be a big issue but I am planning for even that eventuality.  I am culling a group of physicians (all of whom are pediatricians) who I will hire to cover for me when I am out of town or ill.  I have one person already lined up and am working on others.  Part of the reason I have been traveling so much now is to get it out of the way before I open my doors in two weeks.  I won’t have any travel for more than a day or two out of the office until February or March when we will likely take a family vacation.  I will be taking my own call at night and on the weekends but will supply you with many tools to help you answer questions.  I will be giving each family a book, “Your Child’s Health” (http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Your-Childs-Health/Barton-D-Schmitt/e/9780553383690)  and I will also have extensive health content on my website for you to access.  

I will be heading to the site again today, where the painting is underway along with the door installation.  NEATO!  I got the treadmill and elliptical for the office before I left on my trip and the furniture from Ikea arrives on Monday.  Amazing.

More later but I am really glad to be home…..

Relax, sleep, read and play and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

