Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Oven pancakes 2: success! July 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 7:26 pm

Hello Colleen Smith!  Thank you sooo much for the absolutely fabulous oven pancake recipe!  We made them for dinner and they were amazing.  For any of you who have ever had a baked apple pancake at The Original Pancake House, this is better.  Here’s the recipe for two 9″ pancakes (we made 5 pancakes, 1 for each of us)

Fantastic Oven Pancakes

2 eggs vigorously whipped to a froth

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup flour

2 tablespoons butter

Preheat oven to 425.  Take two 9″ glass pie plates (we used some glass and some tin ones and the glass did work better although they both worked) and place 1 tablespoon of butter in each and place them in the preheating oven while you get the batter ready.

While the pans are heating, whisk the eggs vigorously to a froth and then add 1/2 cup milk and whisk again.  Finally add the 1/2 cup flour and blend it well.  Carefully pour the batter into the two preheated pie pans after swirling the butter around and place them back in the oven.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until puffy and slightly brown.  Remove them from the oven, placing one pancake on each plate.  Put fruit or pie filling or just syrup on it and it will be the best meal you have had in a long time!

Tomorrow I am meeting with Tim Smith (Colleen’s husband) and Christopher Billick about the website.  One of the features will be a place where you can submit recipes that are family favorites too.  I will catalog them by type and major ingredients and you will be able to search through all of them to get a new idea to try.  Yummy.

Today was also another installment of Brothers Breakfast with Chuck and Tom and man do I enjoy these weekly meetings.  We are all going through times of transition in our lives and the support we are able to provide each other is wonderful.  I wasn’t always close to my brothers but when Tom moved back home from Phoenix last year, we started this weekly ritual.  They are amazing men.  We are all different, with different strengths and weaknesses, different personalities and interests, and we are at different points in our lives and yet the common bond of being siblings transcends these differences.  It is wonderful to have people who know me with all my flaws and still love and support me.  I have a good friend who is like this for me as well.  I have known this person for many, many years and in the last year the support and truly unconditional love given still amazes me.  I felt for a long time that this friend just didn’t see my flaws or chose to ignore them, but lately my flaws have been painfully apparent and despite them, we remain very close.  What a gift.  

So tomorrow as I am scurrying about town picking up pottery from the Creative Arts Studio in Royal Oak and meeting with my web team at Skidmore and then meeting with my new employees at the office for the requisite completion of payroll paperwork, I will be thinking of all the people who have loved and supported me and have helped me get to this exciting point in my life.  Thank you.

Two weeks to go!

Love, support, and share yourself completely with those you love and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com 

 

Leave a Reply

