Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Thanks! August 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:30 pm

I am getting in the groove at the office.  Pat and I are a great team and between the two of us we are measuring and drawing blood and doing vision screens on 27-32 patients every day!  We still have some start up snags, mostly because we are all new at this new thing, and so I am not quite as on schedule as I would like to be by the late morning and late afternoon.  I am still no more than 30 minutes off the time but my goal is to be better than that.  My brother Tom is doing a bang up job getting the billing under control but even with him doing a lot of it, there is still a steep learning curve for both of us.  We had hoped to send out our first batch of claims today but it will have to be tomorrow due to a problem with the printer.  I can’t wait until all of this is electronically filed (about 2-3 weeks from now)…..then we will not only bill electronically but the posting of the payment will happen electronically and I might even be able to make payroll! 

I really appreciate all the well wishers and the many folks who have brought gifts of food and wine and wonderful flowers and plants.  I also appreciate all of my friends who have been hanging in there despite my lack of returning phone calls or having any availability to see them.  I appreciate my staff, who are working so well together and seem (at least most of the time) to be enjoying life at work.  I appreciate my brothers, Tom who is a great biller already, and Chuck who sits down on my lunch break with me every day and reminds me that there is life outside of the office and keeps me grounded.  I appreciate my mom who finally was able to take a well earned day off and has set a tone for the office that is warm and efficient at the same time.  I appreciate Paula who is quickly becoming a member of the ‘family’ too.  Mostly though I appreciate my husband and kids who are putting up with my new longer hours and constant attention to the details of work.  Thanks to all of you!

Go Michael Phelps!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center  Phone: 248-816-2558

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

