Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Meet the doctor August 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:48 pm

Over the last two weeks, I have had six Meet the Doctor appointments.  These are set up to allow couples who are expecting a baby to come into the office and talk to me about everything from breast feeding and scheduling to vaccines and car seats.  Many times the questions asked by the folks coming to meet me are the same and of course my answers are the same and yet each one is a little gem of a visit.  So much joy and hope and anxious anticipation is clear on the faces of the couples that I can’t help but be excited with and for them. 

It is getting to know the parents and later the children that brings me such joy in my practice life.  A lot of the time my everyday practice life is a series of similar problems with similar solutions.  Of course there is the occasional diagnostic dilemma to keep things spicy but it is the fact that so many of the visits are ‘the same’ that makes the focus on the child rather than the illness so wonderful.  I know a lot of doctors who have found that they are bored by their work or who are so frustrated by the sheer number of patients that need their help that they burn out.  I find the busy days are oddly energizing.  I feel a huge sense of accomplishment and gain a ton of happy energy from my interactions with my patients and their parents.  So this is why at the end of a very long and busy day, the Meet the Doctor appointments are wonderful.  They remind me of the unfettered joy and naive excitement that life can bring.  Just as I enjoy seeing the world through the eyes of my own children, I enjoy seeing the world of parenting through the eyes of soon-to-be moms and dads.

Congratulations to the new families to be and to the people that will help them as they realize their dreams and visions will have to adapt to the fact that the baby will have a say in the reality of life too!

Sleep, eat miniwheats and have an epidural and your labor day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center  Phone: 248-816-2558

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

