Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

a new beginning August 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:35 pm

Life gives us opportunities, risks, and choices.  I am so glad that I took the opportunity and the risk and made the choice to start my own practice.  The hours are very long (I am doing billing until after 11 pm most nights) and the learning curve still amazingly steep but I am happy.  I am content.  I feel for the first time in my life that I am just where I should be.  There have been bumps along the way and sometimes facing reality is really hard but I have learned that it can be cleansing too and can be the start of a new understanding of myself.  

I have now completed three full weeks in practice and since I have soooo much experience, I can say that this is a resounding success.  I am just as busy as I would have been at my old office and yet much happier than I have ever been.  Sure I am on call every night, but everyone respects my time and uses their book as a resource before calling.  Sure I am answering emails and fielding a lot of phone calls but I feel a sense of peace and pride I have never felt before in my work life.  I have always loved my work; loved the kids and their parents and the challenges they present, but now I feel a greater sense of satisfaction and excitement and pride.  I have always taken the time to really know my patients but with the smaller setting, everyone I see is my patient and I like that intimacy.

It is a rare thing in life to get a second chance at something and I am lucky to have it.  I am lucky to have people who are willing to share this experience with me and although I know I will make mistakes it is comforting to know that I am in a place of peace and happiness with supportive people all around me.  Have I mentioned lately how much I cherish my brothers and the opportunity to have them near me every day?  Have I mentioned that my relationship with my mom even as her boss is going better than I could have ever hoped?  Have I mentioned that Pat is a joy to work with?  Have I mentioned that Paula is fantastic and Maria and Jeni are great to have on the team?  Who could ask for a better crew!

Most importantly though, this is a new beginning for my kids and my husband too.  The past few months have been trying in many ways and exciting in others and we have weathered the good and the bad and now that the dust is settling and the routine of life is starting to make itself more clear, I am sooo glad to have an incredible family and husband to share this with.  

I always loved September, the beginning of the school year with its school supplies and new clothes and renewed friendships and the promise of a neat locker and no more procrastinating.  By October the locker was a mess and I was up late doing homework assignments that I had weeks to do but didn’t but I still loved the start of the school year.  A new beginning.  What a gift.

Try something new, love your family, and apologize for your mistakes and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center  Phone: 248-816-2558

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

