Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

fall is here September 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 7:26 pm

As an unabashed lover of Michigan, I must tell you I am thrilled that fall is here!  I spent the weekend hunkering down at home leaving the house only to see a baby at Royal Oak, take the kids to their riding lessons and get the groceries I needed to cook and cook and cook.  I love to cook especially in the fall and winter when warm comfort foods are on the menu.  I made three big pots of soup, some to eat now and some to freeze.  Minestrone was the most popular, followed by potato leek, and then cream of broccoli soup.  I also made a loaf of rustic bread (here’s a link to the recipe: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/081mrex.html) and a huge batch of chocolate chip cookies.  My kids all love to cook and bake and we had fun prepping the veggies for the soups, kneading the bread and eating raw cookie dough.  Now that I have eaten myself silly over the weekend, it is time to return to the structure of work and the treadmill.  

Another thing I enjoy in the fall and winter is knitting.  I started a new project this weekend too: a blackberry colored car coat  http://www.knitpicks.com/thick%20knit%20car%20coat%20pattern_PD50637220.html?.                           Fun!  I have been a knitter for years and am pretty good at it but have learned that I knit to relax, not to prove something to myself.  A few winters ago I bought $200 worth of varied colored yarns and started working on an elaborate cardigan with several different patterns and a horse motif.  What was I thinking???!!!  Not only was it crazy from the standpoint that it required an intense amount of attention but a HORSE motif????  I really was nutso when I bought that pattern and yarn.  I finished the back, one of the front panels and half of the other front panels before throwing in the towel.  Of course I couldn’t admit to myself that I was throwing in the towel and the yarn and pattern and partially finished product are all upstairs in my closet waiting for me….maybe I should try to sell it on ebay….lord knows I have bought a ton of crap there!

This week should be quiet again at the office since the fall illnesses have yet to run rampant through the community so I am hoping to write my web content and get the site launched in the coming week or two.  

Of note, there have been four cases of pertussis (whooping cough) and one case of measles in the practice over the last six weeks so be on the lookout for severe prolonged coughing illnesses and high fevers with a bad cough and a rash.  

Happy fall!  Swim your way to work or school tomorrow!

Cook, knit, and snuggle in bed and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center   248 816 2558

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

