Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Cranky September 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:57 pm

I hadn’t planned to start biking to work just yet but I may just have to.  Today when I was driving to Declan’s flag football practice, the oil light went on….big deal you think, just dash in to the oil change shop or Murrays and fill ‘er up and that’ll buy you time to get to the dealer.  The problem is that I had just had the oil changed on Saturday and the place was closed by the time I realized what was happening.  I did stop at Murray’s and got a couple of quarts of oil and a funnel and added one quart to the reservoir only to discover that the light did not go off!  UUUGGGHHH.

Have I mentioned that I am a terrible driver? As a result I have had my fair share of days at body shops and tire shops and dealerships and so I know first hand what a ginormous hassle this will be.  I went online and put in my service request with my dealer and will drop off the car early in the morning in the hope that it is an easy fix and I can have my car back by the end of the day.  Wishful thinking probably.

Life just seems to pile on at times.  This was not the absolute worst day this could have happened but it is one more item on a growing list of hassles and stresses.  I had planned to have lunch tomorrow with a new friend and that had to be postponed…..I was sort of LIVING for this little oasis in the week.  I have a laundry list of other stresses right now that I won’t bore you with but let’s just say this wasn’t the best time for this to happen.  

I have been running 3+ miles every day in an attempt to diffuse my tension and I couldn’t run today due to an inservice with the lab on how to order and integrate labs online and with my emr.  It was good and needed but honestly, I really needed to run today.  I was cranky and irritated all day.  I kept apologizing to Tom especially because, as my brother, he got the brunt of my snippy attitude. In my never ending attempt to find the positive even in a genuinely crappy day I realized that the sunny side of the cancelled lunch tomorrow is that I will definitely get a good run in….of course I do love to eat and visit with Robyn….still would have rather had the lunch.

Off to bed before I get more cranky!  

Rip out your knitting when there are errors, learn a new lab program instead of getting to run, and have the oil light appear on your dashboard and today will NOT be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD   Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center   248 816-2558

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

4 Responses to “Cranky”

  1. Robyn Says:

    I know today was horrible, but tomorrow will be better. It has to be, right? If not, next Wednesday will surely be great–at least the lunch part of the day!!

  2. Ann P Says:

    It must be the full moon this week but I can relate as my whole week did not go the way I had hoped & to top it off the school called at 10:10 this morning because Allie’s tummy hurt so I had to cancel the lunch I had been looking forward to all week. (Yes, she has gotten sick twice) Don’t know if this helps you, but it helps me when I read your blog and realize I am not alone with the stresses of parenting & working. BTW, all Jack’s teachers at middle school reminded us last night to check their assignment logs daily & I was not even aware that he had an assignment log! When you have lunch with Robyn, please ask her to reconsider the blog! It always put in me a good mood to read it!

  3. Robyn Says:

    I just hopped on to make sure my comment the other day went through and read Ann’s comment. That was so nice–totally made my day. Cody has been home for about 2 weeks now and we’re settling in so I will probably sit down and get back to writing about Frankie. Thanks for the added push. So nice, too cool…

  4. Carol Says:

    Yes, Robyn. I am also missing hearing about Frankie and how she’s doing. I’d love to hear some updates. 🙂


Leave a Reply

