Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

L’shana Tova September 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:36 pm

It’s the last day of September and I have good news…..I broke even this month!  I know you were worried and wondering so I wanted to be sure to let you know.  I had estimated my overhead very accurately and had estimated my average per patient reimbursement very accurately and this month really helped me see that this venture is definitely going to be a success.  

Today was great too because I got to run.  I do love running.  I could only run for 15 minutes since my asthma is still acting up and I had a really short lunch hour but it was terrifically fun.  Tomorrow I will run again and use my inhaler more beforehand….I did use it today but only a couple of puffs, I definitely need more than that!  I have seen a bunch of wheezing kids lately in the office and I feel their pain.  This fall virus that is causing sore throat for a couple of days followed by cough is resulting in wheezing for a lot of us with asthma.  I haven’t sent a viral culture off to see which of the fall viruses is the culprit but believe me it is a wicked virus.  

Speaking of viruses, many of you have asked about when I will have the flu vaccine.  I will know in the next week or so when it will ship and we can plan to have some flu clinics after I know for sure when it will come in.  I will also have flumist (the intranasal flu vaccine) inshallah and will be able to offer that as well.  I am a big proponent of the flu vaccine.  Perhaps it is my asthma and the havoc influenza wreaks with it that motivates me but there is good data (beyond my anecdotal ‘proof’) that the vaccine has broad based benefits.  All of you with young children should strongly consider getting it.  For the record, the flu vaccine I will stock is all preservative free and will help protect your child (and family) against influenza.   When I blog about the flu clinics, I will give you more info about the vaccine and the schedule and the pros and cons.

For all of my Jewish friends out there, it is the second night of Rosh Hashana and I wish you all a Happy New Year and hope your name is inscribed in G-d’s book.  I hope your new year is full of wellness and happiness.

Eat apples and honey, get your flu shot, and run and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

One Response to “L’shana Tova”

  1. Ann P Says:

    Very Nice on the budgeting & break even – hope you & the family did something special to celebrate! Your awesome venture was clearly very well planned – must be the geek in you!

    When you set up your flu clinics, can you give shots to parents too or does that require a different dose?


Leave a Reply

