Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Contentment October 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:51 pm

For those of you who have emailed, texted, mentioned in passing and called me at home, yes I am still alive!  No excuses….just got off the blog wagon for a couple of weeks.  Enjoying the weather, the slower days at the office, the hubbub of flag football and a wicked case of asthma have sidelined me for a bit.

This week I would normally be out of town and the American Academy of Pediatrics National Conference and Exhibition learning all sorts of cool new things and undoubtedly sitting through some painful dull talks too.  I would be exploring Boston and seeing my friends at the AAP who I have worked with in many capacities over the years and avoiding those people I don’t want to see but this year I am home and it feels oddly good.  I have found a new place in my life that is richer and fuller than I have had in years.  I am happy in my own skin.  I am enjoying my kids and my husband.  I am enjoying walks to the farmers market, cheering Declan on in his football games, watching all the kids horseback ride and play Indiana Jones, and get excited about Halloween.  I am not sure what it is about life this fall that is different….I guess it is me.  I am happy.  I am content.  

Who knew that changing my work life with its incumbent stresses and worries and cash flow problems would be the key to contentedness?  Tomorrow the BBFA is having a lecture offered in both the morning and the evening on this very topic: Women and Contentment.  I am sponsoring the event and here’s the link: http://www.bbfaprevention.org/images/October_2008_PEP_Flyer_with_sponsor.pdf .  Check it out!

Thanks to Robyn and Marian and Liz and my mom, I am back on the blog bandwagon!

Be content, check out the flu shot page, and skip traveling and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

