Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Full moon October 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 8:36 pm

 

There’s folklore everywhere about the effect of the full moon on everything from werewolves to pregnant women and you know what, I am, just maybe, starting to believe it.  Over the last 48 hours, I have had seven newborns to see at Troy and Royal Oak Beaumont and that is AMAZING!  I have had a steady stream of newborns since the office opened, one to three each week and never more than two at a time and then the floodgates opened (or the waters broke) and a truckload of new babies were born.  It has been fun to reconnect with the nurses at the hospital and the clerks too since I was out of commission for a while between jobs and today I ran into three of the nurses who helped me after my kids were born.  NICE!

Today was also terrific because I got a little break from the hubbub of work.  I decided a few weeks ago to take a few hours off this afternoon and originally I had planned to go hiking through Stony Creek Metropark but with the Incredible Hulk that I am on steroids due to my asthma, I decided that a stroll through the leaf mold, however beautiful, was not in my best interest.  Instead, I spent a few hours resting and getting my tire fixed and having sinfully fattening mexican food.  Very very nice!  

I am starting to feel a bit less like the steroid-crazed hulk and more like myself today too.  I am sassy and fat from fluid retention but at least I am not crying 24/7.  I still have about 5 more days to go but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.  This weekend will be filled with birthday preparations for Mairen’s 12th along with riding and football and sleep!  The way I figure it, all the babies have been born so I am in the clear!

Eat chips and salsa, take a nap and enjoy an afternoon of relaxation and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

One Response to “Full moon”

  1. Patti Says:

    Molly, I am so glad to see you are back at Blogging. I really look forward to reading you blog.
    Also, you look fantastic! I meant to tell you the other day, but with the sick kids I didn’t get a chance to say it!


Leave a Reply

