Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Running and cooking October 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:18 pm

Two of my favorite things in the world are running and cooking.  Today I got to do both.  This was the third day in a row I have made a run a part of my day and I can’t tell you how good it feels to be active and feeling good!  Of course the M&Ms that I have been scarfing at the office will mean that all this exercise will once again NOT result in any weight loss for me.  But that’s fine….I love running and M&Ms and having both in one day makes for a great one!

Every Halloween the O’Shea family has a tradition of having all the grandparents over for dinner and then the Papas and I take the kids out trick or treating.  I am psyched that Halloween is falling on a Friday this year….and it will be another year of nice weather to boot!  In the past, I have ended my appointments by 4:30 to be home in time to have dinner with the crew and take the kids out but this year, I am not sure I will be home in time for the dinner portion of the evening.  Soooo tonight I made some of the dinner….a fantastic meat sauce with ground sirloin and hot italian sausage, tomatoes, onions, garlic, fresh basil, spinach and oregano and a loaf of sweet cranberry bread.  Nice!  I love the process of chopping the onions and licking the batter off the spatula and tonight was no exception.  I enjoyed a glass of wine while I worked and Mairen kept popping in and telling me tidbits about her day.  Very nice indeed.

On a side note, I have had several questions about Vitamin D….here’s the scoop….not all cod liver oil is made the same.  Sometimes in the purification process the Vitamin D is actually extracted (?!) so look at the label to confirm it is rich in Vitamin D.  

Run 3 miles a day and cook up a storm and have an occasional glass of wine and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD   Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

