Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

The first flu clinic was a big success! November 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:47 pm

I had no idea if we would be swamped with patients or dead this morning for the flu clinic and thankfully we were somewhere in between.  The hearty souls who braved the shot (or mist) the morning after a late and exciting night trick or treating were rewarded with bags of chocolate goodies and a smooth and efficient process.  NICE!  We gave out 35 doses of influenza vaccine today and had already given out more than 40 during the previous week.  What was particularly nice was that I got to see a few kids who haven’t needed a check up or a sick visit since I left BHP and who I didn’t know were making the switch!  Fun to see some new old faces!

Next Saturday I am doing my second (and probably last) one from 9-11 am and I still have plenty of vaccine, although I am down to my last 10 doses of the flumist.  If my old kid/adult supply stays large, I will be able to vaccinate parents next weekend too!  Woo hoo!   If you can’t make the flu clinic this coming Saturday, schedule a vaccine only appointment this week and we can get your child all set…..Tuesday is a day many kids have off due to elections so feel free to call and set up a time to come in!

I strongly encourage anyone who wants their child to get the flu vaccine to come in this week….flu season is upon us!  At Beaumont over the last few weeks they have already had cases of influenza and it takes a couple of weeks for your body to develop immunity so get it in before Thanksgiving!

I have also just started to get some of the Halloween pictures emailed to me so keep them coming in and tomorrow I will start posting them on the blog!

Happy Saturday night!

Stop eating chocolate, take a long walk outside, and mourn the Wolverine’s season and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

