Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

My first day off and the final flu clinic November 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 11:00 pm

shelly

 

Tomorrow I am doing it….I am officially taking a day off!  Dr. Shelley Behrendt will be in the office for several hours (11-2) to see any sick kids and I am heading first to the airport to pick up one of my best friends and we are heading out to Ann Arbor for the day and evening.  I haven’t seen her in months and she knows me better than almost anyone.  She loves me for me and I can’t imagine life without her.  

To be honest, I am a little nervous about taking the day off but I must do this at some point.  I have taken a few hours off here and there but this will be the first time I will be completely out and have someone else in my stead.  Remember the first time you left your kids with a babysitter?  The combination of both excitement and terror are bubbling up inside me tonight.  I went over everything with Pat and told her that she can call me anytime.  I made lists and left snacks.  I put my otoscope where Shelley can find it easily and at some point I just have to let go.  Shelley is terrific and I know anyone who sees her will like her a lot.  She and I did our residency together downtown at Children’s and she went on to do a fellowship in Pediatric Emergency medicine.  She works in the emergency department at Children’s and is well qualified to see you while I am out enjoying the day.  As an added bonus, I know Shelley’s kids since I am their pediatrician and she is a great parent!   Be kind to Shelley….I want to keep her!  Now I really sound like a nervous parent leaving her kids with the babysitter!

Remember Saturday from 9-11 is the final flu clinic….COME AND GET IT!!!!

Take a day off, reconnect with an old friend, and trust in others and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

