Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Recipe of the week! November 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:48 pm

Impress your family and friends with this absolutely delicious (and simple) make-ahead cranberry side dish!

Cranberry and Tart Cherry compote from epicurious.com http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cranberry-and-Tart-Cherry-Compote-350429

This recipe is AMAZING and will make you rethink cranberries all together! 

Today was spent grocery shopping and then cooking the afternoon away.  There is little I like more than cooking.  I enjoy every sensual bit of it.  Today I made the cranberry sauce, a fabulous pumpkin ice cream pie with chocolate-almond bark and toffee sauce, roasted beets for a beet, feta and toasted pecan salad, and made turkey stock from some roasted wings and veggies for the gravy base and stuffing.  It was a fantastic day!  The warm, red beet juice staining my fingers and the creamy chocolate on my lips from licking the spatula were just the beginning of a full five senses experience.  The smell of the simmering stock and the gorgeous hues of the pumpkin and cranberries and turkey wings and listening to Conall yak and yak as we cooked together made for a most amazing afternoon.  I have little cooking tasks each day this week to prepare for Thanksgiving and each day will bring a smile to my face.

So why is it that I don’t ever meal plan like this any other week of the year?  My family would be eating like kings!  Most weeks they are lucky to get a Sunday dinner out of me!  I have to admit I like the challenge of doing the whole meal myself and rarely allow other guests to bring anything but an appetizer or an extra dessert.  Control freak?  perhaps….. but more likely the fact that I actually enjoy the cooking and the kudos, not to mention the fact that it’s a darn good meal!

Cook like crazy, try a new recipe, and wash your hands and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

