Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Ho, ho, ho! And another great recipe! December 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 8:16 pm

Its official, I am over-the-top with Christmas cheer today.  I love the white blanket of snow on the ground, the festive lights throughout the neighborhood, the smell of baking gingerbread cookies in the house, and the wonderful magic of Pandora mixing up Christmas tunes to listen to. 

Pandora is amazing.  I discovered it when the application became available for my iPhone but I use it much more on my laptop.  When you get to the site you type in a song or artist you like and then the music streamed is a varied playlist of similar songs “genomically” as they say.  So let’s say you chose ‘Rockin around the Christmas Tree’ for your song, they go out into the wide world of music and find other Christmas songs that are rock and roll based and play them.  It is amazing.  If Pandora plays a song you don’t like, you just indicate that by clicking the thumbs down sign on the song and the program learns what you like and don’t like and refines the music choices played.  It rocks!

Not only has constant jazzy Christmas music put me in the mood for the holidays, but today the kids and I spent the entire afternoon baking!  We all love to cook and eat and this afternoon we made five batches of nut brittle, gingerbread cookies, and a funfetti cake.  It was terrific.  Of course now we are all crashing from the sugar high we rode for the afternoon and are hunkered down watching a ‘Gilligan’s Island’ as we get ready for the school and work week to begin. 

mixednutbrittleThe nut brittle I make is awesome and incredibly easy.  It gets rave reviews and makes great teacher gifts for the holidays.  Check it out and make a batch or two…just don’t tell my family dentist Dr. Baran!

Eat great sugary treats, listen to holiday music, and do a jigsaw puzzle and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

One Response to “Ho, ho, ho! And another great recipe!”

  1. Christie Says:

    I made this nut brittle for my girls’ preschool teachers, and it is so good! I actually had to make a second batch because I ate so much of the first!! Thanks for the link!


Leave a Reply

