Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Hocus Pocus, Snow Day! December 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:43 pm

Put a spoon under your pillow.  (Courtesy of Patrick Balow)

Wear your pajamas backwards and inside out.  (Courtesy of Conall O’Shea)

Flush some ice cubes down the toilet.   (Courtesy of Mairen O’Shea)

Don’t forget to put the fork in the freezer.  (Courtesy of Emily Balow)

Be sure the penny is under your mattress.  (Courtesy of Declan O’Shea)

I loved snow days when I was a kid.  I loved going to bed at night with my pajamas on backwards and praying that the snow that was predicted would come in droves.  As soon as I awoke the next morning, I would run to my window which overlooked the backyard to see if  my prayers had been answered.  If it looked likely, I would turn on the radio (really boring grown up WWJ) and listen for the school closings to be announced.  It seemed that no matter when I turned the radio on, they would have just finished Oakland County and I would have to wait and listen to Wayne, Washtenaw, and Macomb counties before I would know. 

The anticipation was huge and fun.  I liken it to the few times that I have bought a lottery ticket.  In the days before the drawing, I would imagine the possibilities if I won, fantasizing about the way I would spend the winnings.  My kids are no different.  They spent the evening working their mojo with utensils and ice cubes and jammies and were giddy with excitement.  We checked the website (again) just before they went to sleep hoping that the schools would have already called a preemptive closing (which they have not).  Images of sledding and snowmen and hot cocoa and sleepovers with friends are filling the boys heads.  Homework was postponed, bedtimes extended a little all in anticipation of a free day tomorrow.

We have worked our mojo and we are all going to bed hoping for a one day extension of the Christmas break…..at least the kids are!

Remember the fun of a snow day as you prepare for your commute to work tomorrow, drink hot cocoa, and bookmark the school district website and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

2 Responses to “Hocus Pocus, Snow Day!”

  1. Carol Says:

    Don’t forget to put a white crayon on the window sill…..

  2. Hey, I stumbled across your blog through Yahoo and just wanted to say that I love it. I’ll definitely be bookmarking it!


Leave a Reply

