Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

The good, the bad, and the ugly December 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 11:28 pm

It’s nearing the end of the year and it is time to assess the good, the bad and the ugly about my new practice. 

First the good.  I am still amazed and pleased that Frank and Mark got the space finished just in the nick of time for my opening on August 4th.  The furniture and color scheme and warmth that I had hoped to create has really worked with kids and parents alike feeling comfortable and welcome in my new home away from home.   The practice is growing quickly and with a healthy variety of patients.  I have brand new babies, lots of preschool aged kids and many elementary aged kids and teenagers too!  I have welcomed old friends and new to the practice and have grown much more quickly than I had imagined I could.  I have shared the joys and challenges of this new venture with my brothers and my new extended family of Paula, Pat, Jeni, Maria, Amy and now Cinzia.  The successes are the direct result of a team of great folks all trying our best to make everything center on the kids.  I couldn’t have done any of this without them and without my mom.  She was a huge help and asset as the practice got up and running.

Next, the bad.  Hmmmm.  Having a hard time with this one…..the weekend before we opened, it was over 100 degrees in the space and we were building and moving furniture in.  Oh yes, and it took quite a while for us to get the whole billing stuff down and we will still have a lot growth to go in this area.  Frustration continues with the fact that I am still having trouble with the hospitals keeping straight the fact that I am no longer with my old group and as a result I have gone out to Troy or Royal Oak Beaumont unnecessarily on several occasions to see babies that weren’t actually for me!

Last, the ugly.  The kitchen table that I thought was fantastic (it’s white and round and funky) looks TERRIBLE!  It is scuffed and crappy looking.  I have successfully maimed or killed every plant given to me.  My personal office is a perpetual mess.   And the floors show every salt stained footprint.

Overall this year has been an exciting one.  I have experienced the joys and challenges of opening my own business, of doing home visits, of blogging here and for the Detroit News, of going without a paycheck, of hiring my staff, of learning a new medical records and billing system, of negotiating my out from my old practice, of marketing the practice, of finding a new balance between my work and home lives, of exercising regularly, of taking all of my own after hours calls, of working with my brothers and mom and staff.  Mostly though, this year has brought me joy and satisfaction and a sense of contentedness.  That is a gift!

Assess your good, bad and ugly and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

