Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

feeling under the weather January 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:59 pm

Being a pediatrician has its pros and cons.  Starting yesterday I began to feel very tired and achey.  I did what I tell everyone else to do and drank a lot of fluids and slept an extra long time last night.  I even did what Jane Brody in the NY Times said was a good thing: to continue to exercise.  I ran on the treadmill today….a shorter distance and time than I normally would on a Monday and I must say, I DIDN’T HELP!  So much for THAT theory.

It was another busy day at the office and lucky for me, the day went very smoothly (thanks Tom and Maria!).  I am really growing quickly now with several new families every day and loving my work life…..I know its gotta be good when even on a day when I am achey and fatigued I left with a big, fat smile on my face.

As I have gotten busier, I have begun to think about the pros and cons of adding another provider.  I am just beginning to talk to pediatricians and pediatric nurse practitioners to see if I can find a good fit.  I am so committed to the different way the practice works (not just the physical environment but my accessibility and ability to really know every patient) that I would need to find just the right person.  I am only interested in someone part time but am hoping to find someone by the summer.   We shall see. 

If anyone has suggestions about whether a nurse practitioner or doctor would be more desirable to you or even what key features are important to you in a second provider, please comment here or email me at drmolly@birminghampediatrics.com.  I want to make sure that if I have someone join the family, that he or she will be embraced by all of you. 

Get lots of sleep, drink your fluids, and let me know what you think and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

2 Responses to “feeling under the weather”

  1. Carol Says:

    For me I think it would be more important for the provider to share your philosophy and fit in well to the “family” at your office. I am not sure if Heather would be willing to see anyone other than you when she visits.

  2. Jen Says:

    I agree with Carol. The most important thing is that anyone who works with you shares your philosophy, treats children with respect by really listening to their questions and comments or examining a stuffed crocodile when asked and respects us parents who try really hard to do the best thing for our kids but sometimes have “gut” feelings or a million questions or are just scared and tired. I love the comfortable atmosphere of the office and so do my girls. They want to stop at your office whenever we happen to drive by. I love that. I’m just waiting for an “adult” doctor to join you, too, so I can enjoy the same thing for me!


Leave a Reply

