Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

shopping sucks! even with spanx! January 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 11:29 pm

I have a big hoo ha event to go to this weekend on Saturday night and since I haven’t actually worn a cocktail dress or gown in years, I trudged out my old stuff and tried it on.  Let’s just say that my body is no longer 25 (or 35 for that matter).  Three kids have taken a toll on my chest and back and belly.  I still have decent legs (thanks to running) but have the Kavanagh curse of excess trunk fat.  Sooooo when I went out to find an outfit appropriate for the black tie shindig this weekend I was duly depressed. 

I am jeans girl and on a fancy day, a sweater dress.  I like loose and flowing tops and chunky sweaters.  I wear fleece-lined slip on shoes or running shoes most of the time and never ever wear high heels.  The problem of course is that being a levi’s, anthropologie, hippy girl doesn’t work at a black tie event.  Soooo I made my way to Nordstrom today and tried on about 4 million dresses.  Some were flouncy, some were slinky, some were long sleeved, some were strapless, some were satin, some were beaded, some were colorful, and some were black.  I had the most patient woman assisting me and she gently suggested I try Spanx to smooth out my silhouette.  I wriggled into them and pulled them up just below my boobs and was very skeptical….until I put on the black satin skirt and emerald green shawl collared blouse and WOW.  Of course I still don’t look like I did before kids, but at least I don’t look like a bowl full of jello either!  I didn’t even bother to look at the pricetag until I got to the cashier and when it rang up at $72, I didn’t even blink.

I am glad to have something to wear and even though it was incredibly shocking at times to gaze in that mirror in slinky or strapless (do I really look like that?), I realize that as a woman of a certain age, I have to accept the reality of gravity and genetics and focus on being healthy and less on perky boobs.

Accept yourself as you are, be healthy, and wear Spanx and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

