Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

What a weekend! February 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 9:44 pm

img_11651img_01031img_1167img_1171img_1172

When last we met, I had just discovered Spanx and found a terrific (incredibly expensive) outfit for the shindig on Saturday night.  Sooo much has happened since then.  Friday came and went with some emotional ups and downs and honest and necessary discussions…unfortunately, Saturday morning arrived with puffy eyelids and a full day of stuff to do before the partay. 

The kids and I spent the morning rounding at Troy Beaumont and then went to horseback riding for the afternoon.  When we got back at 4 o’clock, I decided to take a little nap before getting ready for the party….one of the smartest things I have done in years!  I slept for a little over an hour and awoke refreshed.  Off to the shower I trudged to shampoo and shave and moisturize.  Here are a few things I learned as I got ready for the evening out:

Skittles likes to lick my newly shaved and moisturized legs…GROSS!

Spanx really are amazingly comfortable considering you are actually in a suit better suited for a superhero. 

I never knew that a muffin top could be so high up (Spanx can only do so much).

I am REALLY white in the winter.

My boys are fascinated by women’s undergarments…..they had a good laugh and actually thought I was going out just in my black bra and Spanx!  They were as relieved as the rest of the world when they learned this was my underwear!

Little velcro rollers rock and roll.

Mary Kay cosmetics are fantastic.  I can go from looking like myself with no make up on to looking like myself only better with it on!

My Peruvian black alpaca cape is incredibly versatile…and warm!

Off we went to the Birmingham Education Foundation Unabashed Bash and what a nice evening we had.  The Townsend is a wonderful lace to have an event like this and after just a glass or two of wine, every item in the silent auction looked really really good.  I usually get really nervous about these sorts of events but this time I just had fun.  I saw friends and patient’s parents and new folks too who were interesting and great to be with. 

After the delicious dinner, the live auction began and when the four bedroom cottage on Lake Michigan just outside of Harbor Springs came up for bid, I went to town and GOT IT!  My family usually spends a week on the lake each summer and now our cottage is set….for less than we paid last year for a similarly sized place and the money went to a great cause!

The biggest highlight of the weekend though happened today when I met my very best friend from grade and middle school, Kathleen Steele Grieve (she’ll always just be Kathy to me).  We met this morning at Toast and even though we literally haven’t seen each other in 30 years it was as if no time had passed.  Kathy lives in Sonoma and we reconnected via Facebook a couple of weeks ago.  Kathy was coming in town this weekend for a cousin’s wedding and we had a chance to meet. 

What a joy!  Kathy is exactly the same.  Still incredibly tall, beautiful, funny and REAL.  We still have a ton in common and even with the years apart we found ourselves sharing very personal stories from our lives.  The happy things and the challenges.  Kathy lives with her husband and 2 sons, 6 sheep and 12 chickens in a wine growing region.  She runs, cooks, and knits and is wonderful.  After breakfast, Kathy came to the house and met the kids and Kevin snapped a few photos for us all to remember the day. 

As I sit here watching the Superbowl tonight, I am feeling so lucky to have found my long lost friend and even luckier that we still are the same people we were in 1979 when we were singing the Bee Gees and just starting to grow up. 

Dress up once in a while, find your very best old new friend, and make cakes for your birthday boy tomorrow and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

