Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Declan is 10! February 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:25 pm

img_1204img_1211img_11791img_1230img_1233img_1236

This morning started off with Declan awakening at 6:25, really excited to be turning 10.  He wanted to open one of his gifts before school and so at 7:15 he opened up a couple of Webkinz from my parents who are wintering in Florida (lucky dogs).  He was delighted! 

Lucky for me, today, although busy, went very smoothly and I exceeded expectations arriving home before 6 and could enjoy the gourmet dinner of mac and cheese and strawberry cake with chocolate frosting (surprisingly good).  And then came the presents….between the High School Musical 2 DVD, ‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid’ book, a bunch of bakugan, a Lion’s jersey (he’s the last remaining fan), and a Navy pilot jumpsuit (he loves his costumes) Declan had a great birthday!

It still amazes me to think that this 5 feet tall fourth grader was the little baby I eventually grew to understand.  He was colicky it seems from the day he was born and cried for hours and hours at a time.  I couldn’t seem to figure out how to make him feel better no matter what I tried…swaddling, nursing, pacifiers, diet changes, reflux meds, and nothing seemed to work.  It was depressing (or perhaps I was depressed and that’s why he was colicky) but anyway I looked at it, I felt like I could do nothing right.  As time passed, his colic improved and so did my mental state but that disconnect when he was a tiny baby always haunted me.  I wasn’t confident that I could read him, understand him, and meet his needs for years.  Eventually, I learned his delicious quirks, his wonderful heart-on-his-sleeve emotionality, and how to make him laugh and help him when he cries.  Now, at age 10, we are hitting our stride…..let’s just hope puberty isn’t right around the corner!

Eat lots of cake, learn everything you can about bakugan, and see the smile on your child’s face and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

Leave a Reply

