Dr. Molly’s Weblog

Molly O’Shea starts a revolution in pediatric care

Getting closer to my first real vacation February 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — drmolly @ 10:41 pm

My family is planning a trip to Peru in April.  We are going for about 12 days and will visit Lima, Callao, Cusco and Machu Pichu.  About three weeks ago, I told Kevin that I wasn’t sure if I could go.  I had been trying to find coverage for the office, rounding and call and had been coming up short.  My usual coverage person was going away then too with her family and I contacted a couple of other pediatric ER docs I know and could only get three of the eight days covered.  I had begun talking with another doc who is unexpectedly in solo practice now about cross covering for each other but to be honest I didn’t want to have to owe her days if she covered for me.  The way it was going to work is that she would be in my office for the mornings on each of the days I was gone and in her own office in the afternoon and I would owe her eight office days and two weekends.  That way when she went out of town, I would work half days in her office and mine just as she would.  She’s a very good doc and a nice enough person but I didn’t want to owe anyone that much.  

Soooo back to the drawing board I went.  Lucky for me, I have been meeting with doctors who are possibly interested in working for me starting this summer and there are a couple that I really, really liked.  When we were talking, I discussed this time in April that I needed coverage for and one of the women is going to do it!  I am thrilled.  It will give her a chance to see what the office is like, give my staff and some of you a chance to meet her.  I am hoping that the other person that I am interested in will take me up on a couple of other days I have available for coverage so we can all try each other out.  NICE.  

Now I just have to figure out the rounding and the call…..any takers?

Be sure to take vacations, don’t leave without all your ducks in a row, and maybe, just maybe leave your phone at home when you go and each day will be your best!

Molly O’Shea, MD  Birmingham Pediatrics + Wellness Center

http://www.birminghampediatrics.com

 

2 Responses to “Getting closer to my first real vacation”

  1. Gina Says:

    wow….that sounds great Molly! May I ask why you and your family chose Peru?

    • drmolly Says:

      We are going there because Kevin’s mother is from there originally. She is one of 11 sibs and many still live there. We will visit with them when we are in Lima and Callao. Fun!


Leave a Reply

